The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

|

SYNOPSIS

Against all odds, 17-year-old Gene has survived in a world where humans have been eaten to near extinction by the general population. Every decade there is a government sponsored hunt. When Gene is selected to be one of the combatants he must learn the art of the hunt but also elude his fellow competitors.

REVIEW

For once things are different - in The Hunt, humans are now known as hepers are close to extinction and are hunted down or bred as food. And the others, the ones who dominate the world, are those nocturnal human-like cannibals who somehow exhibit vampiric features. It's certainly a fresh twist, and a horrific, heart-gripping one at that.

Blending in with the predators has been how Gene kept himself alive for the past 17 years. He still remembers the warning his father gave him: don't exhibit any facial expressions, use some special formula to cover your body odour, and whatever you do, don't stand out of the crowd. 

A fellow predator girl with flaming red hair - Ashley June, caught his eyes. He controls himself, though. Distances himself from her. No good can come if your girlfriend eats you up for breakfast, right? But there's more to Ashley June than meets the eye.

When both are selected for the Heper Hunt, Gene must overcome all odds to stay alive. And that proves to be a more challenging task than he ever thought.

This pacing of this novel is quite good, given that most of the events are focused on the days before the Heper Hunt. I really appreciate the author's unique storytelling that keeps me seated until I finally finished the story. 

Somehow I loved this novel. Though some parts of it are illogical, put in mind that this is a fantasy young adult novel, so do not expect everything to be explained rationally. Nonetheless, I hope the author will give a layout of the history/background of how the cannibals came to be in the next two books. 

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will most likely to enjoy this novel.

RATING 5 

3 creative remarks:

Melanie said...

Humans are being eaten? I'm not sure if I could stomach that, though the premise is fascinating.

Hilda K said...

I remember reading wonderful things about this book when it first comes out. The premise sounds very fascinating! Wow, it's time for humans to be hunted instead of being hunters. I hope the second book will be even better, Aik, and provides readers with background story! :)

Wonderful review! :)

Obi Boy said...

Interesting angle to write a vampire story from. Sounds fresh and original. I also have a vampire book, click this link: http://pendreadcorn.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/reverence-vampire-kings-zombie.html?m=1